Week #21

Hello everyone!!

The last couple of weeks I’ve been trying to eat a low amount of carbs and a higher amount of protein and good fats. Its been fun to explore different things and figure out what works for me.  I know if I eat too much sugar, I don’t lose weight.  I’m beginning to think carbs might be another big culprit. Trying this plan seems to be working as I lost a few pounds this past week.  I found this recipe to try this week instead of bread:   Its pretty good even though its not quite the same as bread J:) https://www.wholesomeyum.com/recipes/low-carb-bagels-with-almond-flour-keto-gluten-free-5-ingredients/

I love pizza so any kind of pizza recipe I like to try!  This one was delicious, even without the carbs!  http://www.kalynskitchen.com/2016/01/low-carb-deconstructed-pizza-casserole.html?m=1#more

One thing I’ve also been learning is there are so many things you can do with cauliflower.  Here’s another one I’ve tried this week: http://kirbiecravings.com/2016/10/cheesy-cauliflower-muffins.html

I’m not usually a big fan of beets, I think it’s the texture of them.  But as I find beets in different forms, I really like them!  I’ve talked about the beet hummas from Costco and then this week I saw these chips at Bulk Barn and then later at Fortinos.  There’s also a carrot and a turnip kind!

20170613_181652_1497392596596

The last couple of weeks I’ve been thinking about the importance of learning to hear the voice of God above the voice of the world, of Satan who loves to accuse believers, and the voice of my own sinful and selfish heart. John 10 talks about how Jesus is our good Shepherd. He knows His sheep and His sheep know His voice and the Good Shepherd came to lay down His life for us.  The same chapter says this: A thief comes only to steal and to kill and to destroy. I have come so that they may have life and have it in abundance.

I have times, as I’m sure we all do, that suddenly all of these thoughts how I’ve failed in areas of my life, how I’m not doing enough or how I’m not effective in what I’m doing come flowing into my mind and heart.   I’m learning that these general, broad thoughts are not from God. There is no condemnation for those who are in Christ and thoughts/feelings that threaten to steal and destroy the joy and hope I have in Christ aren’t from Him. I’m thankful for the way God’s Spirit speaks to our hearts.  The Bible tells us that the Holy Spirit came to comfort, encourage, lead, strengthen and to convict the world of sin.  He does show me my sin, and it does hurt and humble me, but He never condemns and tears down.  In the end conviction from the Holy Spirit leads to more life, freedom, joy and assurance of God’s great love and grace…and there’s nothing better than that!

To finish this blog, I thought I would share my discovery of a fun way to make the rowing machine at my gym more fun 🙂  I was scrolling through the menu on it the other day and I noticed a games section…this is the game I tried.  My little fish had to avoid the sharks and to control when I went, I had to row at different paces.  As silly as it seems, it helps to make the time go faster!  Haha 🙂

2 thoughts on “Week #21

  1. Cheryl I’ve got some delicious low carb high healthy fat recipes 🙂 I’ll send you them! Great spiritual insights too – proud of you & love the blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

