Week #16

Happy friday!   Hope you all have had a good week!

This has been a good week for me. It started with some tiredness and weariness but it has been one of those weeks God has used a bunch of random events in my week to bring me to a new understanding and clarity.

The beginning of the week I didn’t send my accountability friend the picture of my weight because once again it stayed exactly the same.  I felt frustrated and ashamed.

I’ve had a small voice at the back of my mind saying that maybe I can’t handle allowing myself to have treats on the weekends.  But I kept ignoring it. In my pride I thought I could manage it even though I haven’t been able to for the last number of years.

Starting the cleanse this week has been the perfect reset. I’m feeling really good and it just makes it easier to not even have the option of eating something not healthy.

God has been reminding me this week that the call to follow Christ will require sacrifices.  Life isn’t meant to be all about me, what I want and what I think should happen.  There were 2 events this week that I really wanted to go to but was unable to due to previous commitments. Both things happened back-to-back so I don’t think the timing was coincidence. While I sometimes struggle with self-pity, whatever little sacrifices I have to make along the way are worth it because of where they lead. I love the way Philippians 3:7-9 says it:

But whatever were gains to me I now consider loss for the sake of Christ.  What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ—the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith

Why forgo some of my favorite food? Because I believe it will be worth it in every way for it will lead me to be able to honor God more with my body and to be able to live with more freedom. As I’ve talked about before food has been my biggest distraction and idol. It is the area the enemy most tempts me to live for my own selfish desires.

To top everything off, one chapter from the book I’m reading, “Made to Crave” was exactly what I need to read this week. I highlighted the sentences that felt like were specifically meant for me:

20170505_12045520170505_120608-1

So, I’m asking God for enough humility to  be able to admit that I’m not in a place yet I can just have a few chips, or have just one brownie.  For now it works for me to cut out sugar, white flour and highly processed things such as chips completely. I need more time to develop new healthy habits and someday, by God’s grace I’ll be able to add in some treats in a quantity that won’t be excessive. Starting today, I’m giving all of you permission to take junk food and highly sugar/processed food out of my hands if you see me eating it!

Some weeks I do good at remembering to take pictures of the food I’ve made and had for the week. This was not one of those weeks though…I didn’t take one picture!  But regardless, here are the recipes I’ve used and enjoyed this week:

http://www.thecreativebite.com/mediterranean-breakfast-tostadas/ I made these for dinner 🙂

http://www.sugarfreemom.com/recipes/grain-free-low-carb-cheesy-bread-sticks/

20170505_115727

Leave a Reply

