Week #15

20170427_202147I’m learning to enjoy the journey more. Last night while it was still raining, there was a huge rainbow stretched across the sky and the sun was starting to peek out from the clouds which made the grass and fields so vibrant in their colors.  It was a moment that reminded me of the amazing truth that there is beauty even in the midst of storms.

I’ve been feeling stressed lately and anxious about my progress.  I wish I could say I was further along. I wish I could say that I am not struggling.  But I can’t. The bad news is that I’ve spent years developing and depending on these bad habits and it might take me a longer than other people to overcome this. The good news is the numbers do slowly keep decreasing.

Even though I’m not as far I wanted to be, I have a new resolve in my heart to keep on pressing on in this weight loss.  In the past I would have given up long ago and that’s a huge step forward for me personally.

I’m learning to trust that the battle is the Lords.  Of course that doesn’t mean I can sit back and do nothing but ultimately I want my confidence to be in my Saviour who has started a good work in me and who promises to bring it completion on the day I see Jesus face to face.  I am where I am today only by the grace of God working in different areas of my life, in different seasons and I want to trust He will continue to do so.

And it makes things more fun, looking for the ways God continues to show me so much patience and grace in this battle.  How He continues to provide just what I need each step of the way. How He continues to be so faithful even when I am so faithless.  I am sinful and weak but I have a great Saviour.

I love how aspects of our physical life are pictures of spiritual life in Christ.  There is such a beautiful dual reality for believers: in our lives we work at things whether it is our physical health or our spiritual health, all the while resting in the fact we are completely secure and loved in Him. We work because He has given us the ability to do so since His work on the cross has been credited to us. This great peace provides fuel for the journey. So, all glory goes to Him.

On May1st I’m starting a 15 day cleanse!  This is one of the ways God has provided for me lately.  I’m not actually sure who, but one of my facebook friends added me to Goodness Me community group and right now they are starting “friends cleanse together” support group.  I decided to join the fun 🙂  I thought I needed a new challenge and a chance to “reset.”  So far its been great, very informative and helpful. If anyone is interested in doing it too, here is the link:  https://www.facebook.com/groups/1362320420492236/ I’d love some more company 🙂

This is the cleanse I’m doing and you can find it at Fortinos, Goodness Me and any other health food store I’m sure…. It was just over $20  http://www.renewlife.ca/products/first-cleanse/

Here’s a picture of a little cheat sheet for it.  As you can see its not very complicated but I’m sure it will be challenging!20170426_194537

I’ve found some recipes that I’m going to try during it.  This was a great website! http://greatist.com/health/new-year-detox-recipes

To end this blog I’ll share a few recipes that I’ve used this past week and loved!!

Whole Wheat Lemon Raspberry Muffins:  https://www.100daysofrealfood.com/recipe-whole-wheat-lemon-raspberry-muffins/ (I reduced the amount of butter and added some greek yogurt)

Mayo free Cheesy Spinach Dip: http://www.sugarfreemom.com/recipes/mayo-free-cheesy-spinach-dip-with-veggie-kabobs/

Black Bean and Beef Enchilada Casserole: http://juliasalbum.com/2015/02/black-bean-and-beef-enchilada-casserole-recipe/

Leave a Reply

