Week #14

Sugar! Sugar! Sugar! It’s everywhere!! Especially this week immediately following Easter and all the chocolate it involves.

This week I participated in a Sugar detox group on Facebook. It definitely has been very eye-opening.   It’s amazing, actually more like scary, how easy it is to go down the slippery slope of too much sugar.  To begin the group we were encouraged to watch the documentary “Fed Up”  Its on Netflix.  I highly recommend it.  I learned how addictive certain foods truly are. Did you know that if you look on any food label, you will never see the percentage of recommended daily intake for sugar?  Also, the low fat products usually have more added sugar.  They talked about how when we eat fibres, it helps to break down the sugar we eat. All around I learned a lot and I’m planning on watching it again because I’m sure I didn’t catch all the information.

When I first started this journey I was a lot more careful with the amount of sugar I ate and I really think that is why I lost that first 10 pounds.  As a result, This week I’ve cut back a lot this week on the amount of sugar I’ve been eating.  I’ve been reading labels more carefully and that has helped to show me how much added sugar there is to things like crackers and cereal.  I used to just look at the amount of fat but its so important to look at the product as a whole.

 

With our big Easter dinner this past weekend, I didn’t have to do a lot of cooking this week…. We’ve enjoyed leftovers this week 🙂  I haven’t had any of the stuffing and mashed potatoes, but I’ve enjoyed the turkey, the vegetables and the salads!

One night we made a crustless quiche with our leftover ham- it was really good!   Here is the recipe: 20170420_194551

Last night I made bruschetta because tomatoes were on sale!  Someone gave me a box of baked corn crackers so I used them to dip in. I really like them because they taste like the corn tortilla chips but they are so much better nutritional wise.    Here is the recipe I used: http://www.food.com/recipe/best-ever-bruschetta-443987

I’ve also had plain greek yogurt with strawberries this week for some of my lunches. So yummy 🙂

Does anyone know of good cereal with little or no sugar?  That is what I’m on the hunt for right now!

Its hard to believe we are nearing the end of April already!  Enjoy the last week of April!!

Leave a Reply

