Week #6

20170219_180850Its been a beautiful weekend, hasn’t it?! The weather was perfect! Last night after a very busy, very tiring, but very productive week, I stood on a cliff, over-looking the lake with the waves crashing over rocks while the sun was setting. It was a very peaceful moment  and this verse kept on running through my mind: “He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul.” The quietness of that time by the lake was so restorative and I was reminded of the blessing of being able to work hard and then afterwards, to enjoy the gift of rest.  It was just one of those weeks in which everything seemed happen and I’ll be honest there were times I didn’t have a very good attitude.  But, there were also moments God reminded me to be thankful, for He has given me work I love to do, the ability and the strength to do a variety of things, and people I love to work with.

As I’ve been thinking about these things, I’ve seen a correlation between the hard work of trying to lose weight and learn to live a healthier lifestyle. There are times when all this feels overwhelming and I’m tempted to give up. There are also times like this morning when I had to wear a belt with my jeans that are too loose now.  So while the numbers on the scale don’t always show all of the progress that are happening, progress can be seen in other areas. It’s neat how the same can be said for the rest of life, especially as Christians.  We can have faith that God is always at work, even when we can’t see it because He is building His Church and even the gates of Hell cannot prevail against it. (Matthew 16:18) This week I’m asking God for continued desire, strength and energy to keep working hard in this journey. Doing things half-heartedly can be such an easy spot to fall in to, and the last couple of weeks I feel like I’ve fallen into that spot. I’ve lost 7 pounds so far but I feel like I could be doing better. I want to work hard at this so that I can enjoy the rewards.

The next two weeks will look a little different. Starting this Thursday I’m going to be house-sitting/kitty-sitting for a couple of weeks for a family from my church so the last couple of weeks I’ve been planning out what I’m going to eat while I’m there.  I have a number of frozen soups stocked up and last Friday (instead of today, since it’s a holiday) I did some cooking for this week.  I made shepherd’s pie, white chicken lasagna, homemade mini whole wheat pizzas with lots of veggies, and some Lemon raspberry muffins.  Here’s a picture of the frozen meals I’ve made up:

This time around house-sitting/kitty-sitting I’m being a lot more intentional with planning out what I’m going to be eating. Since I’m just going to be cooking for myself there, I tend to do more snacking so I have to be prepared. I’m also bringing my weigh scale this time to keep accountable. Here are some of the groceries I’m taking with me (I’ll pick up produce when I get there):

20170220_150342

The next 2 weeks are kind of like a mini-vacation in some ways so I’m not sure if I’ll write a blog post next week but definitely the week after that, I’ll be back 🙂  Thanks everyone for following along with me and for all your input in this journey!

Leave a Reply

