Week #4

20170206_154443Last Wednesday afternoon, I felt very tired so I decided to have a little nap before I started to make dinner. I woke up about a hour later with chills, my body aching all over and my stomach hurt.  I got up only to tell my mom that I couldn’t make dinner, get some gingerale and then I slept for most of the rest of the day.  I’m not sure what kind of bug I got but I didn’t have much of an appetite for a few days and my energy still hasn’t returned back to normal.  Thursday I was still able to look after my nephews but I couldn’t wait to go to bed that night! It’s amazing how good you feel the next morning after going to bed before 8 the night before 🙂  What is blessing it is to have a nice warm, comfortable bed!!  Even though I didn’t do much physical activity this past week, I still lost a couple of pounds….it helps when I didn’t eat very much for a couple of days.

Anyways I tell you this because I still have a lot of food leftover from last week so I had a bit of a break with cooking today.  Since I’ve felt tired and sluggish the last couple of days, I’ve struggled with snacking on things I shouldn’t . Snacking has always been my downfall and its amazing how easy it is to return to old habits without really thinking about it. This week I’m going to concentrate on making sure I don’t continue to mindlessly snack.

“You will always experience God’s love most in the places where you need him most. Your weaknesses are not meaningless.”   This quote has been a great source of encouragement for me this past week. I’ve thought about it a lot and how I’ve experienced that truth time again and again in my life. I highly recommend reading the whole article!  Here is the link: http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/your-weakness-is-not-meaningless 

I hope you all are doing well and are staying away from all of the flu bugs going around out there. One of the many things I’m learning so far since this journey started is how important friendships are in this life.  We all face our own difficult battles; and its a great gift to have friendships that have mutual love and encouragement and seeking each other’s best as its foundation. One of the things that most motivates me is knowing that I have to text a friend with a picture of my weight! There’s no wiggle room in a picture:)

My menu plan for the week:

Breakfast: My options this week will be eggs and whole wheat toast, whole wheat oatmeal pancakes, fruit smoothies and instant oatmeal packages. For fruit this week I have some berries and bananas

Lunch: I still have the egg casserole muffins that I made last week. I also picked up some avocados that I might make some guacamole later on this week and have it with rice cakes.

Dinner:

These are the recipes I’m going to use for dinner this week:

I made a good ol’ classic this week: Chicken noodle soup.  Here is the recipe I always use:

20170206_16514220170206_154359

I was going to try this Hamburger Potato Bake last week but didn’t get a chance to so this week I will do so.  I’ll have some cooked broccoli with it. 20170130_162427

Lastly I made some Ham and potato soup. Its a good soup to have on a cold winter’s night! 20170206_154329http://allrecipes.com/recipe/56927/delicious-ham-and-potato-soup/ 

Snacks: I still have lots of my favorite oatmeal cookies in the freezer from last week.  I still have some carrot muffins in the freezer but I’m hoping to make some zucchini loaf this week. I just need to get a couple of things from the store before I do so.I’ll try to remember to take a picture of it!

Leave a Reply

