Week #3

 20170130_152827So far I’ve lost 4 pounds. Progress feels good!  While I need to keep working on drinking enough water and eating more veggies and fruits, this week I’ve been learning some things more on a emotional/inward level.

Genesis 16:7-16:

The Angel of the Lord found her by a spring of water in the wilderness, the spring on the way to Shur. He said, “Hagar, slave of Sarai, where have you come from and where are you going?”

She replied, “I’m running away from my mistress Sarai.”

Then the Angel of the Lord said to her, “You must go back to your mistress and submit to her mistreatment.” 10 The Angel of the Lord also said to her, “I will greatly multiply your offspring, and they will be too many to count.”…..13 So she called the Lord who spoke to her: The God Who Sees, for she said, “In this place, have I actually seen the One who sees me?” 14 That is why she named the spring, “A Well of the Living One Who Sees Me.” It is located between Kadesh and Bered.

15 So Hagar gave birth to Abram’s son, and Abram gave the name Ishmael to the son Hagar had. 16 Abram was 86 years old when Hagar bore Ishmael to him.

“The God Who Sees” What an amazing thought!  I love this narrative in Genesis for a number of reasons:

  • It shows God’s power to use even the most painful aspects of our lives for His glory and for our good and blessing even when it doesn’t make any sense to our human minds.
  • It proves we are never alone. God sees and hears all of our pain, struggles and questions and He deeply cares
  • It shows that God is true to His word. He is a promise-keeping God
  • It reminds us that because of Jesus, each of us can have that kind of relationship with God- which the Lord will speak to us personally.

Its been an emotionally draining week for a few different reasons but its been a good reminder that this weight loss journey isn’t just about my physical looks, in fact its very little about that. Its amazing how God can bring together many different factors of our lives to use them to lead and guide us. While I’ve been thinking about this story in Genesis, I was also reminded of a verse in 1 Peter that talks about how inward beauty is imperishable. Its still a very real temptation for me to run to food for comfort but its also amazing to see how its when I take my struggles to God, things have a way of getting clearer. Not that it means all my problems go away immediately. In fact that rarely happens. But as I poured out my heart to God this week, a deep-seeded assurance filled my heart, that I am deeply loved by God, that He sees, hears and cares about what is going on in my life.  That’s not only true for me, but for all of us. Somethings we will never understand but knowing the God who sees is enough. Going to Him rather than food is much more productive. Its harder in the moment because it means dealing with issues face-on but inward health/beauty directly affects physical healthy/beauty. I need to remember this more often….

My menu plan for the week:

Breakfast: My options this week will be eggs and whole wheat toast, whole wheat oatmeal pancakes, fruit smoothies and instant oatmeal packages. For fruit this week I have some berries and applesauce.

Here is the pancake recipe I’ve been using. Its a great recipe! I make these pancakes regularly for my nephews and they always eat lots of them 🙂20170130_160634

Last week I made my own instant oatmeal packets and they are great! They were really easy to make, they taste great, and they are quick to make on the mornings there isn’t a lot of time to have breakfast. The flavor I used was coconut sugar with walnuts. I love the crunch the nuts add to oatmeal!  Here is the link for the recipe: http://www.superhealthykids.com/homemade-instant-oatmeal-packets/

Lunch:

I’m going to have hummus with veggies and brown rice crackers

I also made some Egg casserole bites that I’ll have for either some lunches or breakfasts. Apparently they freeze well so I’ll freeze some for future weeks.  The only thing I changed about the recipe is I added sauteed onions and mushrooms to them. Here’s the recipe:

https://www.100daysofrealfood.com/recipe-breakfast-casserole-bites/

Dinner:

These are the recipes I’m going to use for dinner this week:

I made one of my favorite soups this week…Roasted Butternut Squash and Bacon Soup- its so yummy and filling!  Here is the recipe:

http://damndelicious.net/2014/12/10/roasted-butternut-squash-bacon-soup/20170130_153029

I’m also going to try this Hamburger Potato Bake and have it with some cooked vegetables.20170130_162427

Lastly I’m going to make Oven baked Chicken wings with Creamy cauliflower garlic rice. Here are the recipes:

https://www.100daysofrealfood.com/best-oven-baked-chicken-wings/

http://pinchofyum.com/creamy-cauliflower-garlic-rice

Snacks:

I made my go-to oatmeal cookies again!  They are great and they freeze well. They are also a nice sweet treat to have around for busy days.

http://amyshealthybaking.com/blog/2014/11/30/the-ultimate-healthy-soft-chewy-oatmeal-raisin-cookies/

(I don’t like raisins so I always use other things like seeds and dark chocolate cut up. I use honey to sweeten  and sometimes I also use brown sugar in the raw for part of the amount)

I love coffee cake so naturally I thought these muffins were great to try this week! (I skipped the cream cheese glaze to try to save calories) Here is the recipe:

http://www.ambitiouskitchen.com/2015/02/healthy-carrot-cake-muffins-cream-cheese-glaze/

Leave a Reply

