Week #2

20170123_150802Hello everyone!  Hope you all have had a good week despite the gloomy weather. Its been a good first week for me. I lost a few pounds and am feeling like I’m going in to the swing of things more and more. I really appreciate all the feedback I’ve gotten this past week, it has greatly encouraged me and added to the excitement of starting this journey to healthy living!

The last number of days have been days that didn’t go as planned. I’m sure we all have days and weeks like that. That’s just part of life and it is isn’t always a bad thing. It has just been a good reminder of why planning and being prepared is so beneficial. On friday when I ended up running some errands over lunchtime, it was so handy to be able to grab a pre-made container of veggies and dip, cheese and crackers.  Saturday morning my mom and I ended up taking my nephews out to a local greenhouse with some activities for kids. Then afterwards we took them to Mcdonalds to have some lunch and to play on the playground. I wish we could be like the kids there, eat a little bit and then go burn off the calories at the playground….a great weight loss strategy 🙂 Anyways, it was a really fun morning! I wasn’t planning on having lunch at Mcdonalds but it was a moment I wouldn’t want to miss so I tried to order the better options  and enjoyed that time. In those situations I don’t want to feel stressed, but rather have some ideas in the back of my mind of what to order when I eat out unexpectedly. Here’s a helpful article I’ve found about eating out: http://www.canadianliving.com/health/nutrition/article/smart-choices-at-the-food-court

I was reminded this week of the importance of knowing my “triggers”  I accidentally brought peanut butter sweetened with sugar this week and at first I was just going to use it as I didn’t want to waste it. But as I started to use it a little, I ate way too much of it. “Normal” peanut butter is one of my favorites and I don’t have a little amount of it. So I went back out and brought the kind without the added sugar. I don’t like it quite as much so I’m able to have a reasonable amount of it. Tuesday nights can also be one of my “triggers.” I help out with the youth group at my church and I look after setting up snacks.  There is usually a lot of cookies and chips around and at the end of a busy day, I’m much more prone to eat the things I shouldn’t. So, I have to make sure I have my own snacks ready to go.

My menu plan for the week:

Breakfast: My options this week will be eggs and whole wheat toast, whole wheat pancakes, fruit smoothies and instant oatmeal packages. For fruit this week I have clementines and applesauce. Breakfast is just one of those things I decide what I’m going to have depending on how much time I have and what I feel like.

Someone pointed out to me this week the importance of watching out for the amount of sugar in something, even if it is natural, organic sugar.  I used to like to buy those instant oatmeal packages but they have a lot of sugar!  Thankfully I found a recipe to make my own! I just make some up so I’ll see how they are.  Here is the link for the recipe: http://www.superhealthykids.com/homemade-instant-oatmeal-packets/

Lunch:

I’m going to have egg salad sandwiches, made Greek yogurt, Dijon mustard, onions and dill and I’ll have it with the Dole BBQ ranch salad.

Dinner:

These are the recipes I’m going to use for dinner this week:

Cheesy Italian Sausage Potato Chowder: http://www.anightowlblog.com/2015/10/cheesy-italian-sausage-potato-chowder.html/

Tacos!  I love tacos…they are so yummy and you can load them up with lots of veggies. I’ll use ground chicken with homemade taco seasoning: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/46653/taco-seasoning-i/

Homemade chicken nuggets with wild rice with grilled cauliflower.  The cauliflower was highly recommended to me so I’m excited to try it! Here are the recipes: http://jeanetteshealthyliving.com/grilled-cauliflower-with-rosemary-and-thyme/

https://www.100daysofrealfood.com/recipe-homemade-chicken-nuggets/

Snacks:

I made my own granola bars this week after seeing how even the “healthy” granola bars you can buy in the store still have a lot of sugar.  This is the recipe I tried: http://www.popsugar.com/fitness/Gluten-Free-Oatmeal-Protein-Bars-34281809

I also made Banana bread sweetened by honey. Here is the recipe:20170123_182101

I’m not going to post my food plan chart each week. The general layout will remain the same each week.  If you want to be reminded of it, you can find it on my first post”The Practical Plan”

That is all friends! Hope week 2 goes well 🙂

Leave a Reply

